HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: DeV

Are 4K TVs worth it yet? - $399 TCL 55" 4K TV Review / Editorial

16040 ratings | 808199 views
4K has been out for awhile now, but has the price finally gotten low enough to make it a good bang-for-your-buck value? Is there even anything to watch? Do you still need to pick up a Roku or Chromecast even if it's a "Smart TV"? Check out this TV on Amazon! http://amzn.to/2h2ch6I | Follow me on Twitter!: http://www.twitter.com/realAxonDeV _________________________________ MUSIC: Divertissement by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100256 Artist: http://incompetech.com/ Divider by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://chriszabriskie.com/divider/ Artist: http://chriszabriskie.com/ The Angels Weep by Audionautix is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Artist: http://audionautix.com/ Out of the Skies, Under the Earth by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://chriszabriskie.com/reappear/ Artist: http://chriszabriskie.com/ Title: Tranquility by Direct from Monstercat 020 - Altitude iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/monstercat-020-altitude/id946807055 Listen on Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/album/2BSgvREBP10ZEBJQWDfqCb?play=true&utm_source=open.spotify.com&utm_medium=open Title: Anticipation by Direct & Elliot Berger from Trust In Me EP iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/trust-in-me-ep/id1148530527 Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wg29EDit-EI
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (2896)
Joe Wayne (20 hours ago)
Had a tcl 4K 55. It worked good for 4 months till the kid cracked the fucker with something when I wasn’t watching second one in a year first one was 1k Samsung that hurt the tcl was bought at midnight mad a brand new tv was fucked and when the tcl was found fucked didn’t feel near as bad must admit would buy again
Dylan White (1 day ago)
TCL has like 25% of the market now I think
Logan Derb (3 days ago)
Your car is adorable
Logan Derb (3 days ago)
Cat
Logan Derb (3 days ago)
At 4:40 you mention that it’s brighter and it’s more colorful but I don’t understand why that was important to you? Why wouldn’t you want the reliability of name brand along with a more accurate picture instead of a brighter more colorful one. I personally would rather see what creator of the movie, tv show, YouTube video, game I’m playing wanted me to see versus a more colorful version 🤷🏼‍♂️ I bough the 50” HDR 4K Samsung uhd 7200 or something like that and it was $475 with a 5 year warranty at Costco and it’s the greatest thing I’ve ever owned 😂 well maybe not but it’s the best tv I’ve ever seen in person behind oled and it wasn’t too much more and it has all the capabilities that Samsung smart home brings. And I love the smart tv and it’s not slow. I will say however i dont know if the speakers are good because I bought a sound system to go with it because I’m a music producer so I like to hear accuracy in my movies and games etc... just thought it was weird lol i dont know why I’m commenting so much info 😂😂😂 I like the video though good job
Logan Derb (3 days ago)
Short answer is yes
what build of dolphin do you use
Anime4 Mii (7 days ago)
I want alien 4ktv made by alien
AJ Carlo (8 days ago)
How big is the TV stand your using for that TV?
betty pmarin (9 days ago)
I pay $399 for your cat
Tyler Debono (12 days ago)
Just oredered one a couple days ago hope its good
Septien Patterson (15 days ago)
I won this exact model in a contest this year!! No bullshit!!
Septien Patterson (15 days ago)
TIL Who the fuck is TCL
Henry Petty (15 days ago)
i have the exact bedsheets that you do
nick junior (16 days ago)
You should see the new TCL tv with the JBL tube soundbar on the base
TheDarkLord _ (17 days ago)
My vizio lasted 20 days
Keith Wyatt (17 days ago)
does this tv do picture in picture (pip/pop)
Johanna Rogers (18 days ago)
Hahahahahahahaha .. i wish my TV remote worked on my fan. Dude, you could sell anything! ...I swear! Lol The only thing that I don't like is that while I like Roku, I don't like that I can't sideload on the Roku OS. Still... I'm getting this TV.
Jeanette Moning (19 days ago)
Vizio is terrible im replacing a 55 inch in just 3 years it already clunked out. Im going to buy this TCL ...maybe
lui (19 days ago)
Dude sounds like he’s 30 not 20
Daniel Ruiz (19 days ago)
Your dog is adorable!
Marc Jungblut (19 days ago)
Haha wtf i have those bed sheets
Siddharth Shrivastav (19 days ago)
Damn this was entertaining and A load of info was echoed from a consumers point of view. KUDOS man and de 🐈. Subbed
GlockNinja (20 days ago)
Detailed review except one part....."Cordcutters". You mention power cord...but you didnt mention how many HDMI ports it has. Also if it has a HDMI out port for sound bars or hometheater receivers. You could have given us a view of the back panel to show us what kind of ports it has like USB. I have a Black Friday Emerson TV. It came with 3 HDMI ports. After connecting my PS4, XBOX ONE, Cable box, there was no more ports to connect to my Nintendo Switch. And there is no HDMI OUT to connect to a sound bar. Watching a great picture without great sound is half the experience.
Lyle B (21 days ago)
I bought this TV as well! I am extremely happy with it. The Roku OS works perfectly (FAR better than my buddie's Visio OS) all apps display 4k with and without HDR perfectly, RDR2 w/ HDR is absolutely jaw dropping. Mine is connected via cat6 to a cheap gigabit router and a mediocre Comcast connection and I have yet to see it buffer ANYTHING on any of it's streaming apps, UHD or not. So, I bought a $399 55" 4k TCL not really expecting much and hadn't watched a single review of it etc. I have yet to find a single flaw with it.
Eduardo Montes de Oca (22 days ago)
"Are 4k TVs worth it" pulls out a $399 tv. Well shit you get what you pay for. Didnt even watch the video
The Peach-O-Show (23 days ago)
Is a nintendo switch great for this tv?
Nestor Tetos (23 days ago)
Sacrifice your cat bro
Jim Thompson (24 days ago)
Good Lord! DeV not only has the same TV I do but the exact same bedspread!! Too freaking weird! He has a different cat though so I guess it's OK.
ZombieStain65 (25 days ago)
How’s the tv holding up?
riham alhajturky (26 days ago)
Ok the cat is sooo cute... my cat always sits away from us and like to play!!!
GamE FrEak (27 days ago)
If u read this comment. Plz tell me how will this support my PlayStation Pro for 4k n HDR support. Im not a cable TV watching guy. I only care about Gaming n Youtube n other net appa. Gaming is the most important part of my purchase dor any 4k HDR TV.
John Rose (1 month ago)
Can I please pet your cat....it's so sweet
SirDoodles (1 month ago)
The 2018 is now out and that LED panel on the 4K version is beautiful (:
David Bazaldua (1 month ago)
We literally have the exact same sheet set lmao.
babbisp1 (1 month ago)
9:04 aww
Abreham Tigabu (1 month ago)
I take it back men I was having a bad day, good info keep up the good work
Maiaynoose’s Comment (1 month ago)
Loved your review
Abreham Tigabu (1 month ago)
you suck who want to watch your ugly face and your lazy life
DatMattOfficial (1 month ago)
In the UK, most free to air channels are in 576i.
miar farok (1 month ago)
Worst review ever
Gaming tips (1 month ago)
Hey are you bullet barrys brother (sarcasm)
Fern (1 month ago)
How's the TV holding up? Thanks for the video :)
Tarik El-Badry (1 month ago)
Do more things like the section from 8:35
Marc Gallant (1 month ago)
they could EASILY fix the roku remote by adding a slide out keyboard. Just like the old HTC Dream and that phone was tough as hell (i dropped it 100+ times)
Avery Brooks (1 month ago)
Your CAT is awesome!
Damien Pacuk (1 month ago)
What a TV Review Presentation! You have single handedly made up my mind in purchasing my new TV liked Subscribed
Natthasit (1 month ago)
I only came for the cat
Byron Smith (1 month ago)
TCL should hire you as their spokes person. Great video. I'm a little concerned about game play with ps4 but at this price point im going to give it a try!
kryptoniteee (1 month ago)
This guy. I wonder if he’s seen LG oled tv. This picture is garbage compared to my LG. I mean this would give me a headache to watch.
Green Limited (2 months ago)
Amazon shipping to Africa is just f*#$*d up its better looking east
Jonner Gonzalez (2 months ago)
I got the same tv from Wal...t. I set it up, connected everything, and turned on. I was in shock... not because of the picture, but because it was cracked from corner to corner. I took it back to the store, and they did not hesitate to exchange it. I also paid a protection plan for three years for just $36. I’m happy with my smart tv so far. You can’t but the price, and I don’t even know why TCL stands for. Good video man.
Chris Christian (2 months ago)
Since I'm 50 and my eyes are getting bad I bought a 49 inch 1080 and it's just fine. I wonder if I could get by with a 55 inch 1080? Does anybody know does a 1080 do better with lower Hertz than a 4K? My TV is 8 to 10 ft away
IMAFRIENDLY NEIGHBOR (2 months ago)
How's your tv now?
IMAFRIENDLY NEIGHBOR (2 months ago)
That Cat... Uuuhhh... So cute. Ehem! Im a guy :D
Devon Bedenbaugh (2 months ago)
It's weird that I'm watching you talk about my TV while i'm watching this through my TV. nice review tho
Cringe Play (2 months ago)
This cat is satisfying
Whatever Whenever (2 months ago)
Somehow this video shows up on my home screen again after two years.
Zermu (2 months ago)
1:09 i felt that my soul is being watched by the cat
Fliyo MB (2 months ago)
How does a remote control your fan???
Whatever Whenever (2 months ago)
If the requency of the remote control for the TV and fan are the same, at least the same for some button, than the situation in the video will happen
Fliyo MB (2 months ago)
I just like looking into unkown brands. They provide pretty cool stuff for a cheaper price.
Darrion Russell (5 days ago)
hey are you familiar with silo. I'm buying one tomorrow for $399 a 65' 4k non smart
Armz73 (2 months ago)
Earned a sub.+ like!
Ethan Soule (2 months ago)
Heyyy that's pretty good
Muffin Shorts (2 months ago)
Your cat is huge and cute :p
Tiffany Campana (2 months ago)
Hows your tv still working? Looking into a tcl
Will Jacobs (2 months ago)
This guy still lives with his mom.
Queen B (2 months ago)
Payed 50$ for a 55 inch tcl
Matador Batista (2 months ago)
😂🤣👍👍👍👌👏✌
Commander Shepard (3 months ago)
my traitor of a tv won't turn on so now i have to buy a new one
swoosh bond (3 months ago)
Can you do a review for PHILIPS PUD6172?
tpt213 (3 months ago)
Cat on bed. Pet hair everywhere. Nasty
Subscribe to Pewdiepie (3 months ago)
Cool nigga
Mary Ford (3 months ago)
I know this is 2 years old, but I sure wish there were more tv reviews like this on here! Thank you.
Bajungadustin (3 months ago)
I used Vizio for like 8 years unyil I decided to get a new one. I got a 60in 4k Samsung but due to an incitldent involving the HTC vive and Fruit Ninja... It didn't survive more than a year. So I got a new one and decided to go with LG 65in 4k. I used to tell everyone what a good TV Vizio was for the money but after smashing button presses over and over on both it and the Samsung I will never buy a non LG TV again. This LG is amazing. Its fast, responsive, the remote works the first press every time pointing at the TV or not. The menu is smooth crisp and polished and allows for fast seamless transitions between built in Netflix and plex.. Can't say enough about the quality of the operating system here. And it supports Cec so I can turn it on with my voice. The only con I have found is that the built in plex doesnt seem to pump out the 4k like it should. the quality of the built in plex feels like 1080 but casting plex 4k from my phone or pc to my chromecast ultra clearly does what it's supposed to. If I knew that before buying this TV but still knew how much better everything else was.. I would still buy it.
Bump Dis (3 months ago)
how long did this tc last you anyway?
porkinwitz (3 months ago)
A year and half later, how do you still feel about the TV?
Break Away From Ordinary (3 months ago)
I just bought a 55” TCL myself. Worth it
Matt Nelson (3 months ago)
https://amzn.to/2PSXESJ
Garv Fuka (3 months ago)
Im pretty dang sure I used have the same pillow and blanket!
Joe Ruiz (3 months ago)
It's 2018 now are you still impressed by that TV? Do you still recommend TCL or you changed your mind?
Harrison Gieske (3 months ago)
2018 here, is it still working?
zeemonkeyman1 (3 months ago)
TCL is not an unknown brand at all in some countries and also “brighter” & “more colourful” DOES NOT necessarily mean better.
andrewthacollector (3 months ago)
Just got it and I'm.about to post it up
C.A. Villanueva (3 months ago)
Dude you're hilariously entertaining. Take a sub!
Hassan Tariq (3 months ago)
man .. this guy is awesome
Closingracer (3 months ago)
Tizen on Samsung isn’t that bad
WILLIAM ORTIZ (4 months ago)
I just watch popeye on tv
Everyday Muscle (4 months ago)
That tv is pure garbage man, it weighs 15 lbs its like 95% plastic. Its no better than a Hisense or Westinghouse and should be used for kids or a spare bedroom
ayo30s (4 months ago)
Dude as soon as I clicked on this I’m like wait 20mins Ah Hell Nah!!! And when the video was coming 2 an end I’m like WTF is there a sequel? Great job Brethren, 👍🏾👊🏾✌🏾🇳🇬🇺🇸
25 (4 months ago)
TCL Mean Too Cheap Losers.
First name Last name (4 months ago)
what about the spectre 55 inch 4k tv that goes for 300?
Carlos Bailey (4 months ago)
The cat's like " I wish this dude would stop moving so much...".
angelsausage (4 months ago)
i have a fire tv ^^
MRelemint (4 months ago)
The cat haha
hexster23 (4 months ago)
HI DeV, I'm currently looking for a TV and a few posts have still mentioned the TCL 49S405 TV as one of the best for the price, on sale at amazon currently for $379. I have seen a few reviews though saying this TV lacks color compared to a few of its competitors. For $400-450 max would you still buy this tv over any other??
Ryan Murray (4 months ago)
if you could pet your cat throughout the vid my ocd would be sated...also prob gonna buy this tv
Josh Heesch (4 months ago)
Ah the game grumps, a man of culture I see
Lee Lee (4 months ago)
I like your mic!
WOOW I WRITED 4KSMART TV AND THIS TCL TV COMES ON BRUV I GOT THE 4K SMART TV ITS IN THE BOX BUT I WANNA SEE HOW IT LOOKS LIKE OUT SO I WENT ON YOUTUBE UGH YOUTUBE MAN WHY?
Charlie Stafki (4 months ago)
We have the same bedsheets
RoseWolf (5 months ago)
$399...but can u do this!?😏

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.