HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: DeV

Are 4K TVs worth it yet? - $399 TCL 55" 4K TV Review / Editorial

16216 ratings | 822914 views
4K has been out for awhile now, but has the price finally gotten low enough to make it a good bang-for-your-buck value? Is there even anything to watch? Do you still need to pick up a Roku or Chromecast even if it's a "Smart TV"? Check out this TV on Amazon! http://amzn.to/2h2ch6I | Follow me on Twitter!: http://www.twitter.com/realAxonDeV _________________________________ MUSIC: Divertissement by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1100256 Artist: http://incompetech.com/ Divider by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://chriszabriskie.com/divider/ Artist: http://chriszabriskie.com/ The Angels Weep by Audionautix is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Artist: http://audionautix.com/ Out of the Skies, Under the Earth by Chris Zabriskie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) Source: http://chriszabriskie.com/reappear/ Artist: http://chriszabriskie.com/ Title: Tranquility by Direct from Monstercat 020 - Altitude iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/monstercat-020-altitude/id946807055 Listen on Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/album/2BSgvREBP10ZEBJQWDfqCb?play=true&utm_source=open.spotify.com&utm_medium=open Title: Anticipation by Direct & Elliot Berger from Trust In Me EP iTunes Download Link: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/trust-in-me-ep/id1148530527 Video Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wg29EDit-EI
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (2912)
Ethan Julius (4 days ago)
Awesome review. Just bought the 2018 version of this 55' TV cause of this 😂
Matthew Cheeseman (16 days ago)
Cat is beautiful btw
ShoZk (16 days ago)
The cat is a paid actor
Max Oh (30 days ago)
Your cat is adorable. I’m buying this tv tomorrow
Shadsterwolf (1 month ago)
I've been distracted by the cat, what's this about a TV?
Todd Miller (1 month ago)
I have had this exact same tv for nearly a year now, it's been absolutely flawless. Also in regards to the reviewer's comment about 4K lag, I have an XBOX One X and I play mostly 4K enabled games and I don't have any input lag. I would say the lag he experienced had more to do with the emulator than the TV.
Youtube thicc Boi (1 month ago)
9:20
Ray Harris (1 month ago)
Bruh... did you blur out the cat's genitals at 6:45? Lmaooo
rod cabarlie (1 month ago)
This like is for the cat
Ben Walker (1 month ago)
I love my TCL so much I have two of them. A 43 inch 4k as my desktop monitor and a 55 inch 4k as my home theater main. Love using the smart interface as well, I think it was well done.
Just Me Dave (1 month ago)
ugh why do you gotta put ur tongue between ur teeth when u talk, fix it.
Rylee Bleicher (1 month ago)
Just a solid overall video
Mario (1 month ago)
lightyear is not a unit of...ugh forget it. lol you're right, smart tvs are stupid af, so much bloatware
MrPacos_Bootlegs (1 month ago)
Is this tv good for gaming? Xbox one x
Orin Davenport (1 month ago)
real men get dogs not kittens.
Wallace Gordon (2 months ago)
Good job! Because of reviews like this it made it harder to go out and purchase this particular model in Charlotte - especially right before Christmas. I had to order online and have shipped- Walmart delivered it 2 day earlier than promised. So far I am more than satisfied (cost, ease of use, reliability, screen quality, and gaming ( with very high-end internet and wireless router)) with this purchase, and have a second one, I am most likely to give as gift. Or maybe not.
SLY (2 months ago)
I have the same pillow case and comforter as you
Low-Tech Mods (2 months ago)
I love your cat. Also, I just got this exact TV, and it is the best deal around.
Max (2 months ago)
Why dafuck is this guy lying down on his bed?1
Joe Wayne (2 months ago)
Had a tcl 4K 55. It worked good for 4 months till the kid cracked the fucker with something when I wasn’t watching second one in a year first one was 1k Samsung that hurt the tcl was bought at midnight mad a brand new tv was fucked and when the tcl was found fucked didn’t feel near as bad must admit would buy again
Dylan White (2 months ago)
TCL has like 25% of the market now I think
Logan Derb (2 months ago)
Your car is adorable
Logan Derb (2 months ago)
Cat
Logan Derb (2 months ago)
At 4:40 you mention that it’s brighter and it’s more colorful but I don’t understand why that was important to you? Why wouldn’t you want the reliability of name brand along with a more accurate picture instead of a brighter more colorful one. I personally would rather see what creator of the movie, tv show, YouTube video, game I’m playing wanted me to see versus a more colorful version 🤷🏼‍♂️ I bough the 50” HDR 4K Samsung uhd 7200 or something like that and it was $475 with a 5 year warranty at Costco and it’s the greatest thing I’ve ever owned 😂 well maybe not but it’s the best tv I’ve ever seen in person behind oled and it wasn’t too much more and it has all the capabilities that Samsung smart home brings. And I love the smart tv and it’s not slow. I will say however i dont know if the speakers are good because I bought a sound system to go with it because I’m a music producer so I like to hear accuracy in my movies and games etc... just thought it was weird lol i dont know why I’m commenting so much info 😂😂😂 I like the video though good job
Logan Derb (2 months ago)
Short answer is yes
xXsavageminecraftkidXx (2 months ago)
what build of dolphin do you use
Mai Va Lee (2 months ago)
I want alien 4ktv made by alien
AJ Carlo (2 months ago)
How big is the TV stand your using for that TV?
betty pmarin (2 months ago)
I pay $399 for your cat
Tyler Debono (2 months ago)
Just oredered one a couple days ago hope its good
Septien Patterson (2 months ago)
I won this exact model in a contest this year!! No bullshit!!
Septien Patterson (2 months ago)
TIL Who the fuck is TCL
Henry Petty (2 months ago)
i have the exact bedsheets that you do
nick junior (2 months ago)
You should see the new TCL tv with the JBL tube soundbar on the base
TheDarkLord _ (2 months ago)
My vizio lasted 20 days
Keith Wyatt (2 months ago)
does this tv do picture in picture (pip/pop)
Johanna Rogers (2 months ago)
Hahahahahahahaha .. i wish my TV remote worked on my fan. Dude, you could sell anything! ...I swear! Lol The only thing that I don't like is that while I like Roku, I don't like that I can't sideload on the Roku OS. Still... I'm getting this TV.
Jeanette Moning (2 months ago)
Vizio is terrible im replacing a 55 inch in just 3 years it already clunked out. Im going to buy this TCL ...maybe
loui214 (2 months ago)
Dude sounds like he’s 30 not 20
Daniel Ruiz (2 months ago)
Your dog is adorable!
Marc Jungblut (2 months ago)
Haha wtf i have those bed sheets
Siddharth Shrivastav (2 months ago)
Damn this was entertaining and A load of info was echoed from a consumers point of view. KUDOS man and de 🐈. Subbed
GlockNinja (2 months ago)
Detailed review except one part....."Cordcutters". You mention power cord...but you didnt mention how many HDMI ports it has. Also if it has a HDMI out port for sound bars or hometheater receivers. You could have given us a view of the back panel to show us what kind of ports it has like USB. I have a Black Friday Emerson TV. It came with 3 HDMI ports. After connecting my PS4, XBOX ONE, Cable box, there was no more ports to connect to my Nintendo Switch. And there is no HDMI OUT to connect to a sound bar. Watching a great picture without great sound is half the experience.
Lyle B (2 months ago)
I bought this TV as well! I am extremely happy with it. The Roku OS works perfectly (FAR better than my buddie's Visio OS) all apps display 4k with and without HDR perfectly, RDR2 w/ HDR is absolutely jaw dropping. Mine is connected via cat6 to a cheap gigabit router and a mediocre Comcast connection and I have yet to see it buffer ANYTHING on any of it's streaming apps, UHD or not. So, I bought a $399 55" 4k TCL not really expecting much and hadn't watched a single review of it etc. I have yet to find a single flaw with it.
Eduardo Montes de Oca (2 months ago)
"Are 4k TVs worth it" pulls out a $399 tv. Well shit you get what you pay for. Didnt even watch the video
The Peach-O-Show (2 months ago)
Is a nintendo switch great for this tv?
Nestor Tetos (2 months ago)
Sacrifice your cat bro
Jim Thompson (3 months ago)
Good Lord! DeV not only has the same TV I do but the exact same bedspread!! Too freaking weird! He has a different cat though so I guess it's OK.
ZombieStain65 (3 months ago)
How’s the tv holding up?
riham alhajturky (3 months ago)
Ok the cat is sooo cute... my cat always sits away from us and like to play!!!
GamE FrEak (3 months ago)
If u read this comment. Plz tell me how will this support my PlayStation Pro for 4k n HDR support. Im not a cable TV watching guy. I only care about Gaming n Youtube n other net appa. Gaming is the most important part of my purchase dor any 4k HDR TV.
John Rose (3 months ago)
Can I please pet your cat....it's so sweet
SirDoodles (3 months ago)
The 2018 is now out and that LED panel on the 4K version is beautiful (:
David Bazaldua (3 months ago)
We literally have the exact same sheet set lmao.
babbisp1 (3 months ago)
9:04 aww
Abreham Tigabu (3 months ago)
I take it back men I was having a bad day, good info keep up the good work
Maiaynoose’s Comment (3 months ago)
Loved your review
Abreham Tigabu (3 months ago)
you suck who want to watch your ugly face and your lazy life
DatMattOfficial (3 months ago)
In the UK, most free to air channels are in 576i.
miar farok (3 months ago)
Worst review ever
GanstaPranksta2 (3 months ago)
Hey are you bullet barrys brother (sarcasm)
Fern (3 months ago)
How's the TV holding up? Thanks for the video :)
Tarik El-Badry (3 months ago)
Do more things like the section from 8:35
Marc Gallant (3 months ago)
they could EASILY fix the roku remote by adding a slide out keyboard. Just like the old HTC Dream and that phone was tough as hell (i dropped it 100+ times)
Avery Brooks (3 months ago)
Your CAT is awesome!
Damien Pacuk (3 months ago)
What a TV Review Presentation! You have single handedly made up my mind in purchasing my new TV liked Subscribed
Natthasit (4 months ago)
I only came for the cat
Byron Smith (4 months ago)
TCL should hire you as their spokes person. Great video. I'm a little concerned about game play with ps4 but at this price point im going to give it a try!
kryptoniteee (4 months ago)
This guy. I wonder if he’s seen LG oled tv. This picture is garbage compared to my LG. I mean this would give me a headache to watch.
Green Limited (4 months ago)
Amazon shipping to Africa is just f*#$*d up its better looking east
Jonner Gonzalez (4 months ago)
I got the same tv from Wal...t. I set it up, connected everything, and turned on. I was in shock... not because of the picture, but because it was cracked from corner to corner. I took it back to the store, and they did not hesitate to exchange it. I also paid a protection plan for three years for just $36. I’m happy with my smart tv so far. You can’t but the price, and I don’t even know why TCL stands for. Good video man.
Chris Christian (4 months ago)
Since I'm 50 and my eyes are getting bad I bought a 49 inch 1080 and it's just fine. I wonder if I could get by with a 55 inch 1080? Does anybody know does a 1080 do better with lower Hertz than a 4K? My TV is 8 to 10 ft away
IMAFRIENDLY NEIGHBOR (4 months ago)
How's your tv now?
IMAFRIENDLY NEIGHBOR (4 months ago)
That Cat... Uuuhhh... So cute. Ehem! Im a guy :D
Devon Bedenbaugh (4 months ago)
It's weird that I'm watching you talk about my TV while i'm watching this through my TV. nice review tho
David (4 months ago)
This cat is satisfying
Whatever Whenever (4 months ago)
Somehow this video shows up on my home screen again after two years.
Zermu (4 months ago)
1:09 i felt that my soul is being watched by the cat
Fliyo MB (4 months ago)
How does a remote control your fan???
Whatever Whenever (4 months ago)
If the requency of the remote control for the TV and fan are the same, at least the same for some button, than the situation in the video will happen
Fliyo MB (4 months ago)
I just like looking into unkown brands. They provide pretty cool stuff for a cheaper price.
Darrion Russell (2 months ago)
hey are you familiar with silo. I'm buying one tomorrow for $399 a 65' 4k non smart
Armz73 (4 months ago)
Earned a sub.+ like!
Ethan Soule (4 months ago)
Heyyy that's pretty good
Muffin Shorts (4 months ago)
Your cat is huge and cute :p
Tiffany Campana (4 months ago)
Hows your tv still working? Looking into a tcl
Will Jacobs (4 months ago)
This guy still lives with his mom.
Queen B (4 months ago)
Payed 50$ for a 55 inch tcl
Matador Batista (5 months ago)
😂🤣👍👍👍👌👏✌
Commander Shepard (5 months ago)
my traitor of a tv won't turn on so now i have to buy a new one
swoosh bond (5 months ago)
Can you do a review for PHILIPS PUD6172?
tpt213 (5 months ago)
Cat on bed. Pet hair everywhere. Nasty
Lionel Messi Official (5 months ago)
Cool nigga
Mary Ford (5 months ago)
I know this is 2 years old, but I sure wish there were more tv reviews like this on here! Thank you.
Bajungadustin (5 months ago)
I used Vizio for like 8 years unyil I decided to get a new one. I got a 60in 4k Samsung but due to an incitldent involving the HTC vive and Fruit Ninja... It didn't survive more than a year. So I got a new one and decided to go with LG 65in 4k. I used to tell everyone what a good TV Vizio was for the money but after smashing button presses over and over on both it and the Samsung I will never buy a non LG TV again. This LG is amazing. Its fast, responsive, the remote works the first press every time pointing at the TV or not. The menu is smooth crisp and polished and allows for fast seamless transitions between built in Netflix and plex.. Can't say enough about the quality of the operating system here. And it supports Cec so I can turn it on with my voice. The only con I have found is that the built in plex doesnt seem to pump out the 4k like it should. the quality of the built in plex feels like 1080 but casting plex 4k from my phone or pc to my chromecast ultra clearly does what it's supposed to. If I knew that before buying this TV but still knew how much better everything else was.. I would still buy it.
Bump Dis (5 months ago)
how long did this tc last you anyway?
porkinwitz (5 months ago)
A year and half later, how do you still feel about the TV?
Break Away From Ordinary (5 months ago)
I just bought a 55” TCL myself. Worth it
Matt Nelson (5 months ago)
https://amzn.to/2PSXESJ
Garv Fuka (5 months ago)
Im pretty dang sure I used have the same pillow and blanket!
Joe Ruiz (5 months ago)
It's 2018 now are you still impressed by that TV? Do you still recommend TCL or you changed your mind?
Harrison Gieske (5 months ago)
2018 here, is it still working?
zeemonkeyman1 (5 months ago)
TCL is not an unknown brand at all in some countries and also “brighter” & “more colourful” DOES NOT necessarily mean better.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.