HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Lon.TV

Sony DSC-QX10 DSC-QX10/B In-depth Review Smartphone Attachable Lens-Style Camera

174 ratings | 43645 views
Buy it on Amazon - http://goo.gl/kkhF9P (affiliate link) I will be posting image samples soon! Review index: 0:08 - Hardware 2:21 - Smartphone attachment 4:11 - App usage 7:43 - Settings and photo copying functions 8:17 - Conclusion One of the things I admire about Sony is that they have the ability to experiment with new concepts and rapidly bring them to market. This is most certainly one of those experimental products. Think of the QX-10 as a disembodied camera. Your smartphone becomes the brains, with Sony providing the lens and sensor in a small compact unit. The device can attach to a smart phone or can be held separately (or even mounted on a tripod). This concept brings some interesting creative possibilities, given the lens can be put in places separate from the 'viewfinder' on the smartphone. On board is an 18 megapixel sensor that delivers image quality on par with other cameras at this price point. The lens can also capture video at 1440 x 1080. The smartphone interfaces with the camera via WiFi. The Wifi has a password and it's printed on the quicks start guide that comes with the camera. It will be easily lost so I suggest storing the manual in a safe place. When connected to the camera the phone is unable to access other WiFi networks, so users of iPod Touches or other devices that don't have a secondary internet connection will be unable to go online when using the camera. A memory card slot takes M2 cards or standard MicroSD cards. The default behavior is for full res images to be copied to the memory card while smaller low resolution images are sent back to the phone via WiFi. It's possible to copy the full res images back to the phone with each shot, but that slows down the process considerably as another photo cannot be taken while it's copying an active image over. It's also possible to grab the full res images from a copy function built into the app. My two biggest gripes are the following: 1. No manual controls for the camera - only ISO and exposure level can be adjusted. 2. Slow operating speeds - there's a lot of complexity going on here with Wifi connections, apps, etc. So the workflow doesn't feel as smooth as a dedicated point and shoot camera or even the phone's internal camera app. A lot can be improved in software and Sony does have a ways to go to make this feel less 'beta.' But I'm excited to see what they do with it moving forward and look forward to revising my review. PRODUCT ACQUISITION DISCLOSURE: I received this product through the Amazon Vine program to review on Amazon's site.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (39)
SamElla Sutton (11 months ago)
Can I use my flash with the camera lens
Sara Mata (1 year ago)
I lost my wifi and password do you know how I can get it
Sinjini Banerjee (1 year ago)
Can I attach this with LG g6
Miguel Yanez (1 year ago)
Sinjini Banerjee Yes. The camera makes its own wifi signal that you connect the lg g6 to. However, the clip on the camera might be too small to hold your phone. Ive heard the clips on the cameras extend to about 3 inches and the lg g6 is about 2.8 inches wide. So if it does fit, it would be very tight
Kenneth Robles (2 years ago)
@lon seidman hey is it still advisable to buy this one? my phone is s6 edge plus planning to buy this camera thus this capture better image than a s6 edge plus?
Mopar Man (2 years ago)
I am going to try my camera that I have owned for 2 years now. I do not have a memory card. Where on my Moto G are the images. Not in photos, Gallery or dropbox. I would like to delete them. Thanks Woxy
Dr.Nimish Lakhani (2 years ago)
Nice review 👍 Cool
Nassoro Embu (2 years ago)
I like Sony but sometimes camera don't capture good picture during night
Nassoro Embu (2 years ago)
I like Sony but sometimes camera don't capture good picture during night
Johnny Gordon (2 years ago)
will the camera fit into xperia z5 premium
Johnny Gordon (2 years ago)
will the camera fit into xperia z5 premium
Johnny Gordon (2 years ago)
will the camera fit into xperia z5 premium
Johnny Gordon (2 years ago)
will the camera fit into xperia z5 premium
Rowan West (3 years ago)
C'mon, guys. Wicked. porter grin What's your opinion about this, guys 11
Willow Mouse (3 years ago)
I would love a version of this device that pairs to blutooth
Roger Roa (3 years ago)
Can the camera connect to the phone's portable hotspot?
Pooja Ganesh (3 years ago)
I wish i had seen this video before i purchased this. When taking pictures outside without the wifi it isnt very useful to have this  :)
Korey (1 year ago)
the camera has a wifi network chip that creates its own network to connect to the phone, silly.
Wildfire (3 years ago)
So does this device constantly requre wifi? If so does this mean that it cant be used outdoors?
Alries Sedaka (1 year ago)
no
Tovenaar (4 years ago)
LOL!!!
UilKerk (4 years ago)
I bought one of these this week for a price of 69 Euro's as I was fed up with the cam quality of my Moto G phone and i must say it is a great little device. It is rather quick with the wifi connection (after the first pairing) and it shoots great pictures. A lot better then the MotoG cam. I've just put firmware 3.0 on it maybe that's what makes it a lot faster. And for that price I could not let it go, it's a winner! 
Danny Delgado (4 years ago)
What is the wifi password are they all the same . I lost mine
Mopar Man (2 years ago)
Password can be found on the inside of of your battery compartment lid.
muhammad asdim (4 years ago)
CAN WE CHANGE THE WIFI PASSWORD?
Dudeius Mannigast (4 years ago)
about it feeling like a beta... okey sure BUT its one of the first camlenses to smartphones made... it would be like saying the T-ford felt like a beta when it first was made! (theres not many competing about this market right now) on innovation it still gets two thumbs up imo :)
Dudeius Mannigast (4 years ago)
on a serious review they would have pointed out that "the arms" on the mount can expand up to 3 inches wide... but in this one? no, he shows it by pulling them out, BUT as a viewer i have no clue how far that is! (even when pointing out about what phone model that could possible fit inside) if he would have done his homework... on reviewing stuff he would have opened and read the manual (on the QX10 theres not alot to read)...all of it as a first thing (and by doing so he would have found out there's a password on the inside of the battery lid as well... did he do that? no, but still do good by pointing out that you should take a picture of the password, if for some reason the cameras battery lid gets lost (also it's attached to the camera so it would of course also mean the camera got lost with the password...) there seem to be lag and slow response time.... yes it seems like that BUT not only have sony released a firmware update (from 1.0 to 2.0) can be found on sonys homepage (www.sony.com)... but on many reviews where the person testing this product deside to bring that up... they have almost exclusivly been using a iPhones.... i do own a old xperia S phone (2yrs old) and so far i have had no disconnections, no crashes, no slow transfers with my QX10 (the NFC works well too)... what i wanted to have said is this, instead of placing all blame on the lens.... how about placing some on the phone being used... maybe there's lots of apps running in the background slowing things down? who know! but those things do mather!.. also making sure you got the latest PlayMemories Mobil app version too before reviewing the product... but i do agree sony could add stuff in the app i believe. there's not many controls in the app! thats right. you may not know this but the QX10 is NOT a proffessional camera..nor was it been out on the market for a long time! keep that in mind! updates are released from time to time just like most other apps. stability and functions will become improved over time. just like with most applications... also the diffrence with the pre-set photomodes are how it takes the photos. the mode at the top of the two (as shown in the app) takes a single photo. the mode in the middle takes between 3 and 5 pictures in short time and combine them into a "better" picture (this mode takes alittle bit longer time than the first pre-set mode but the photo comes out better imo) about bluetooth 4.0..... the idea is good but it still suffers from other factors. one being that if the phone its only connected to has bluetooth 3.0 then it would only transfer pictures in 3.0 speed (making the transfer slower) perhaps much slower than with the wifi today...but in the future i do see it as a possibility! another good thing would be if sony would make a "on/off" button in the app to turn the phones flash light on/off. 8making it possible to take pictures where its no light at all. the firmware 2.0 i think fixed the camera so it can now shoot videos in 1920x1080p in 30fps. a 32gb card will hold about 4500 pictures.... so no moster microSD sized cards are really needed.
RelliKs ReliCs (4 years ago)
Great review I do hope this product gets better as I do think its a cool idea. I saw there is the QX 100 for twice the price I wonder what the difference is and if they fix any of the problems that you talked about in the QX 10?
Dudeius Mannigast (4 years ago)
the QX100 has the same sensor as the Sony RX100 II camera. or so i have been told :P
RelliKs ReliCs (4 years ago)
+Lon Seidman Ya I can imagine the price of these items going down and only getting better over time, but at this time $500 is pretty crazy that is for sure!! I still think its some pretty cool tech!  I have lots of idea's that you can use it for if you can put out a mobile wifi with our phone or if it ever works with bluetooth.
FernanDK (4 years ago)
what an horrible product, seriously! no aperture nor exposure control, huge shutter lag, uses wi-fi instead of bluetooth and/or nfc, poor battery performance, extremely poor software configuration, 4:3 instead of 16:9, expensive as hell $250... wow they've just beat the record of mistakes.. like you said, it feels very beta, judging by the number of mistakes it really is a beta, except it's not a free ride and they are charging for it.. honestly i would return this shitty product and ask for a refund. Steam Software Early Access reflecting in real life products? How far society as a whole is from buying a beta car? then a beta house.. essentially a beta life. Damn i hate this.
Dudeius Mannigast (4 years ago)
+Colton McGraw i been hearing some ppl complain about it taking wicked long time to connect to the cam with PlayMemories... it has now happend to me too. but i found out how it could be fixed. turn off the cam and app remove the battery then put it back in the camera. power on your  QX10/100 (or don't power it on and just put it against the NFC area so the sensors are close) then both the app and cam will start and it should now connect fairly quick :) and yes, i agree... bluetooth would be a much more unstable connection that wifi
Colton McGraw (4 years ago)
Yea, bluetooth, lets make the camera even more problematic. Wifi is a much better way to connect the camera, the bandwidth is much stronger
Robyn Swaim (4 years ago)
I have the Samsung Galaxy SIII with an Otter Box case - it works great, and fits great. (was a little concerned it might not fit the case since the clip only stretches to about 3")  I took it to a house warming party over the weekend and got some great pics for first time use.  It won't replace my G5 (Panasonic) but it's a fun little camera with it's own set of uses. 
Dudeius Mannigast (4 years ago)
+Robyn Swaim sorry that was a few weeks ago. i just love using the QX10 with my xperia S :) but i am waiting for a new xperia Z2.... could improve picture transfer and so on if i am lucky :)
Ken O'Neill (4 years ago)
You're being hysterical, calm down and you'll realise it's an amazing piece of hardware, well done Sony!

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.